Education Fund Appeal Feasibility Update

Update (3-1-16)

We are pleased to announce that the case statement is available for you to download and read. Additionally, you can take the survey, which is one method used to gauge the capacity and desire of Minnesota South District supporters to engage in a fund appeal.

Original Post (2-4-16)

The Board of Directors of the Minnesota South District is proud to announce the launch of a district-wide feasibility study to test our readiness for undertaking a campaign in support of Christian education in our district. Resolution 3-03 proposing the study was widely accepted with an approval of 92.7% vote by convention delegates.

Seven initiatives make up Resolution 3-03:

1. Increase the quality of our existing schools and early childhood centers 

2. Planting new schools and early childhood centers

3. Increasing our efforts in support of parental choice in education

4. Expanding our educational ministries among the children, youth and adults in our various immigrant populations

5. Developing and supporting online efforts in Christian education

6. Strengthening educational leadership throughout our MNS District

7. Funding and resources for marketing our Lutheran schools and early childhood centers


Guiding this study is a Task Force of MNS pastors, commissioned workers, laity and district staff.  Serving on this task force are:

Ms. Emily Anderson, Immanuel Lutheran School, Lewiston

Rev. Timothy Berner, Concordia Academy, Roseville

Rev. Dr. Robert Gehrke, South Shore Trinity Lutheran Church, White Bear Lake

Rev. Fred Hinz, Minnesota South District

Mr. Leland Huebner, Board of Directors/Our Savior, Hutchinson

Dr. Phillip Johnson, Minnesota South District

Mr. Scott Johnson, Immanuel Lutheran School, Lakefield

Ms. Suzanne Lagerwaard, Rochester Community Lutheran School

Mr. Sean Martens, Minnesota South District

Rev. David Mumme, Board of Directors/Trinity Lutheran Church, Waterville

Rev. Dr. Dean Nadasdy, Minnesota South District

Mr. Cletus Pfeiffer, Trinity Lone Oak Lutheran School, Eagan

Ms. Kim Ross, Genesis Virtual Academy/Mayer Lutheran High School

Rev. Robert Schulze, Messiah Lutheran Church, Lakeville

Ms. Sara Sorenson, Board of Directors/Immanuel Lutheran Church, Red Wing (Hay Creek)

Mr. Matthew Steiner, Minnesota South District/LCMS Foundation

Ms. Jan Stockman, Cross View Early Childhood Center, Edina

Mr. Wade Stockman, Trinity Lutheran School, Janesville

Rev. Harold Storm, Board of Directors/St. John Lutheran Church, Gaylord         

Cornerstone Stewardship Ministry (CSM) has been contracted to guide the study. CSM helped draft the materials being used, schedule the key steps in carrying out the study, and analyze all surveys, presenting a final report to the MNS Board of Directors on May 3, 2016. CSM is led by Michael Fuchs (Colleyville, Texas) and Jeffrey Davis (Lake Mills, Wisconsin). Many of our district pastors and congregations already know Michael through his work on 40 capital campaigns with MNS congregations and his work in leading the 1995 "Fear Not…Go Forward in Mission" district-wide campaign. Michael and Jeffrey are both experienced Lutheran educators, having both served Lutheran schools prior to their special stewardship work. Together, Michael and Jeffrey bring experience with over 200 capital campaigns for Lutheran ministries.